Bottas wins Austrian GP as Hamilton finishes fourth

Mercedes’ Valterri Bottas has won the Austrian Grand Prix ahead of Sebastian Vettel and Daniel Ricciardo.

Hamilton recovered to fourth after starting in eighth due to a five-place grid penalty and is now 20 points behind Vettel in the championship.

The Brit got past Max Verstappen from the start and was up to fifth after lap eight, passing Force India’s Sergio Perez and Haas’ Romain Grosjean. He then passed Kimi Raikkonen on lap 19 and set about catching third place Ricciardo.

After setting a few fastest laps, Hamilton moved to within a second of the Australian Red Bull driver but Ricciardo held on to take his fifth podium in a row.

In the battle for first, Bottas built up an eight-second lead by lap 34 and controlled the race to the end. Vettel closed the lead to 1.2 seconds going into the final three laps but the Finn helped his teammate’s world title bid by keeping the German out of the winning spot.

Verstappen retired early after a three-car collision involving Toro Rosso’s Daniil Kvyat and McLaren’s Fernando Alonso.

Austrian Grand Prix full result:

1. Valterri Bottas (Mercedes)
2. Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari)
3. Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull)
4. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
5. Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari)
6. Romain Grosjean (Haas)
7. Sergio Perez (Force India)
8. Esteban Ocon (Force India)
9. Felipe Massa (Williams)
10. Lance Stroll (Williams)
11. Jolyon Palmer (Renault)
12. Stoffel Vandoorne (McLaren)
13. Nico Hulkenberg (Renault)
14. Pascal Wehrlein (Sauber)
15. Marcus Ericsson (Sauber)
16. Daniil Kvyat (Toro Rosso)
DNF Carlos Sainz Jr (Toro Rosso)
DNF Kevin Magnussen (Haas)
DNF Fernando Alonso (McLaren)
DNF Max Verstappen (Red Bull)

You may also like...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.