Russia, Belarus banned from Ice Hockey World Championship

Embed from Getty Images

Russia and Belarus have been banned by the International Ice Hockey Federation, following Russia’s invasion of Ukraine.

The ban covers all Russian and Belarusian national and club teams meaning that both nations will be banned from fielding a team at the World Championships in May.

“During an extra-ordinary meeting held on Monday, 28 February, the IIHF Council evaluated the impact of the current war. The IIHF strongly condemns the use of military force and urges the use of diplomatic means to solve conflict,” a IIHF statement said.

The ban also means that their women’s teams, as well as their U18 and U21 teams have been booted out of their respective World Championships later this year.

Belarusian side HK Gomel have also been removed from the upcoming Continental Cup competition.

Replacement teams for all tournaments will be announced in due course.

Great Britain were due to face Belarus in Group B of the World Championship.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.