Lewis Hamilton takes pole position at Spanish Grand Prix

Embed from Getty Images

Lewis Hamilton has posted a time of 1:16.173 to take pole position at the Spanish Grand Prix.

The Mercedes driver finished 0.040 seconds ahead of teammate Valtteri Bottas with Sebastian Vettel completing the top three.

Vettel posted the fastest time in both of the opening sessions before Mercedes had the pace in Q3.

Kimi Raikkonen took fourth, with the Red Bulls of Max Verstappen and Daniel Ricciardo starting in fifth and sixth.

Renault’s Nico Hulkenburg failed to make it out of Q1 and will start in 16th, while Toro Rosso’s Brendon Hartley was unable to get on track after a crash in the third practice session.

Stoffel Vandoorne then made an exit in Q2, finishing 0.6 seconds behind McLaren teammate Fernando Alonso who scraped into the final qualifying session.

Spanish Grand Prix qualifying results in full:

1. Lewis Hamilton
2. Valtteri Bottas
3. Sebastian Vettel
4. Kimi Raikkonen
5. Max Verstappen
6. Daniel Ricciardo
7. Kevin Magnussen
8. Fernando Alonso
9. Carlos Sainz
10. Romain Grosjean
11. Stoffel Vandoorne
12. Pierre Gasly
13. Esteban Ocon
14. Charles Leclerc
15. Sergio Perez
16. Nico Hulkenburg
17. Marcus Ericsson
18. Sergey Sirotkin
19. Lance Stroll
20. Brandon Hartley

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.