Gareth Southgate announces England World Cup squad

Gareth Southgate has announced England’s 23-man squad for this summer’s World Cup.

As expected, West Ham United goalkeeper Joe Hart and Arsenal midfielder Jack Wilshere have missed out, with Nick Pope joining the squad alongside Jack Butland and Jordan Pickford.

Manchester City’s Fabian Delph has made the squad, as well as Liverpool’s 19-year-old defender Trent Alexander-Arnold and Crystal Palace’s Ruben Loftus-Cheek. Tottenham left-back Danny Rose is included despite starting just nine Premier League games this season.

Kyle Walker, John Stones and Harry Maguire are believed to be Southgate’s preferred starting back-three, meaning there is no place in the squad for Burnley’s James Tarkowski with Gary Cahill being named in the squad instead.

Tarkowski has been named amongst the five players on standby along with Tom Heaton, Lewis Cook, Jake Livermore and Adam Lallana.

England squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Jack Butland, Jordan Pickford, Nick Pope

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold, Gary Cahill, Phil Jones, Harry Maguire, Danny Rose, John Stones, Kieran Trippier, Kyle Walker, Ashley Young

Midfielders: Dele Alli, Fabian Delph Eric Dier, Jordan Henderson, Jesse Lingard, Ruben Loftus-Cheek, Raheem Sterling

Forwards: Harry Kane, Marcus Rashford, Jamie Vardy, Danny Welbeck

Cover Photo: FIFA World Cup 2014 by Mariya Butd used under license by CC BY 2.0.

You may also like...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.